MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final

17 January 2017

MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final

India and Pakistan to play at Spotless Stadium on Wednesday

India will face Pakistan for the second year running in the final of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup (4.15pm) at Spotless Stadium before Thunder take on the Adelaide Strikers.

The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup gives cricket players from seven cultural backgrounds the chance to experience the fun and excitement of Twenty20 cricket, whilst representing their community.

This year saw players from the Fiji and Bhutanese communities join cricketers from Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Fiji, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Indian in the competition with 82 teams and more than 800 players participating over an eight week period.

The winning teams from each community cricket round then represented their countries in the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Semi Finals, with Punjab de Sher (India) and The Avengers (Pakistan) qualifying for the Grand Final prior to a Sydney Thunder’s game against the Adelaide Strikers on 18 January at Spotless Stadium.

This year saw the introduction of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All Stars, a squad of players that participated in the tournament.

Sydney Thunder Governor Mark Waugh picked a 16-player squad that has faced the winners of the Melbourne Renegades Champions League tournament for a three game series in Wagga Wagga as well as games against the Lahore Qalandars Player Development Squad and a MoneyGram Youth Scholarship Team from the USA.

They are captained by Hameed Kherkhah, Sydney Thunder’s Community Rookie from BBL04 and the squad also includes last year’s Rookie Nazir Shinwari.