Hayley Silver-Homes Set To Represent The Thunder Academy | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Hayley Silver-Homes Set To Represent The Thunder Academy

17 November 2017

Hayley Silver-Holmes

MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All Stars also in action in double header in Blacktown

Sydney Thunder’s WBBL Academy will be in action against the Australian Defence Force’’s Women’s side at Joe McAleer (1pm start).

Made up of the top cricketers from the Australian Defence Force, they will also be boosted with the inclusion of several WBBL and State Cricketers with former Thunder batter Mikalya Hinkley and Sydney Sixers duo Lauren Smith and Carly Leeson joining Saskia Horley and Tahlia Wilson in their side.

Thunder’s Academy side will also feature Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Hannah Trethewy, Naomi Stalenberg, Nic Carey and Hannah Darlington.

Also in their side is talented teenage Hayley Silver-Holmes, with the Parramatta all-rounder excited to be part of the Thunder Academy setup.

“I enjoy both batting and bowling,” said Hayley Silver-Holmes.

“I first started playing cricket in the backyard and street with my brother. I then started at Castle Hill RSL before a group of us from school decided to move to Parramatta.

“I’m looking forward to getting to train with Naomi Stalenberg, Nic Carey and all the fast bowers.

“Ever since the WBBL started its improving each year. My dream is to play in the WBBL and for Australia.”



After the women’s game the Australian Defence Force’s men’s team will take on the MoneyGram Thunder Natoin Cup All Stars (4.15pm start), captained by Sydney Thunder’s BBL|04 Community Rookie Hameed Kherkhah.

The squad, recently picked by Australian great and The Governor of the Thunder Nation Mark Waugh is made up of cricketers from the Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepalese Fijia, Bangladesh, Indian and Sri Lankan communities.

"For the Australian Defence Force, these fixtures are critical’, LTCOL Rick Maher said.

"The development of cricket, specifically the women’s game, and the camaraderie is what is important to us.

"We enjoy bringing what we do to the broader community, through cricket.

"These games continue the history of cricket being played at Gallipoli, where cricket was actually used as a deception tactic".

Sydney Thunder Academy: Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Ash Day, Hannah Trethewy (WK), Hayley Silver-Holmes, Phoebe Litchfield, Olivia Porter, Yardley Polsen, Maddie Penna, Naomi Stalenberg, Nic Carey, Hannah Darlington

MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup AllStars:Hameed Kherkhah (c), Faisal Nasim, Govind Karki, Kush Ram, Labib Mahmud, Sibghat Khan, Eknoor Singh, Mohammed Emran, Arun Chauhan, Suffan Hassan, Ferman Jafari, Tahmid Islam, Nazir Shinwari, Bilal Querishi, Sutha Thanabalasingam, Modacer Momandi,