Hussey voted Members' Player of the Decade | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Hussey voted Members' Player of the Decade

22 April 2021

Mike Hussey // Getty Images

Legend of the Thunder Nation recognised for inspirational leadership

Sydney Thunder legend Mike Hussey has been voted the Members’ Player of the Decade.

In his 23 games for the club, Hussey scored 741 runs at an average of 39.00 and captained the side to its first KFC Big Bash League title.

His highest score in green was a magnificent 96 from 60 against the Brisbane Heat at Stadium Australia. Check out the video below for all the highlights.

The club's annual award for best player of the BBL season is named in honour of Hussey, who is credited with helping to turnaround a struggling Thunder side.

Hussey left the Perth Scorchers after BBL|02 to take on the challenge of bringing his experience and will-to-win to a young team with enormous potential.

He achieved his mission in BBL|05, bowing out on top after captaining Thunder to its first BBL championship.

Here’s what Thunder Members had to say about Hussey...

Mike Hussey is an outstanding cricketer in all areas, as a batsman and fielder he was second to none and his captaincy was inspirational, passionate, positive and he always led by example.

Mr Cricket was responsible for turning the team around and leading us to our first championship win.

Biggest impact on the Sydney Thunder over the decade.

If I had to have someone bat for my life, the player I would choose would be Michael Edward Killeen Hussey.

Huss helped steer the club away from the lowly wooden spoon seasons of BBL|01, 02 and 03, and captained the club to its first premiership in BBL|05.

Mike Hussey (Mr Cricket) is Sydney Thunder, he led, inspired, mentored and continues to do so.

Mike Hussey led from the front and fostered a change in culture that led to our first championship.

Great leader, great batsman, great role model.

The club’s longest-serving player Usman Khawaja was voted second by Members, followed by fan favourite Shane Watson.

Khawaja was recognised for his commitment to the club, the crucial role he played in the BBL|05 title victory and being an incredible role model for the Thunder Nation.

Watson was a favourite not only for his on-field performances and leadership, but for the time he gave to Members and fans.

The winners of the Alex Blackwell Medal for WBBL|06 and Mike Hussey Medal for BBL|10 will be announced on Friday evening at the Cricket NSW Awards.

Interested in becoming a Member of the Thunder Nation? Click here to be among the first to hear about our packages for WBBL|07 and BBL|11.