Mike Hussey Medal Contenders | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Mike Hussey Medal Contenders

01 April 2019

Jos Buttler

Who was Thunder's best player of BBL|08?

Sydney Thunder will announce the winner of the Mike Hussey Medal for BBL|08 at Friday’s Cricket NSW Awards.

Here’s a closer look at the contenders for the player-voted award, won last year by Thunder captain Shane Watson.

Fawad Ahmed

Ahmed collected 13 wickets at 25.38 in BBL|08 to finish as Thunder's second leading wicket taker, behind Daniel Sams.

The leg-spinner claimed multiple wickets on four occasions, including best figures of 3/33 against the Sydney Sixers when he dismissed the dangerous trio of Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk and Josh Philippe.

Jos Buttler

Buttler dominated the first half of the season before his campaign was cut short by national commitments.

The Englishman, in his second year at Sydney Thunder after a stint at the Melbourne Renegades in BBL|03, scored 273 runs in seven matches at an average of 39 with a strike rate of 135.15.

He departed at the half way mark as the competition’s leading run scorer, with a BBL career-high 89 and two half-centuries to his name.

Callum Ferguson

A fully fit Ferguson enjoyed a career-best BBL campaign in his second season at Thunder.

After crossing from the Melbourne Renegades, Ferguson’s BBL|07 campaign was hampered by thigh and hamstring injuries however he played all 14 matches in BBL|08.

The 34-year-old scored 442 runs at a strike rate of 134.76 to make him the fourth highest run scorer in the competition, as well as Thunder’s top scorer.

Undoubtedly his best game was his unbeaten century at Optus Stadium to help Thunder secure an important win over the Perth Scorchers.

Chris Green

The spinning allrounder enjoyed another outstanding BBL season in green, finishing with eight wickets at an economy of 6.89 and 176 runs at a strike rate 136.51.

Daniel Sams

Former Sixer Daniel Sams was a welcome addition to the Thunder set up this season.

He finished as Thunder’s leading wicket-taker with 15 at 21.07 and also scored a handy 175 runs at a strike rate of 137.80.

On two occasions he was named Player of the Match, including on debut when he scored 34 runs and collected 3/5 to lead Thunder to victory at Manuka Oval.

Shane Watson

Another successful season could see Watson take home his third Mike Hussey Medal, after winning the award in BBL|05 and BBL|07.

He scored the second-most runs for Thunder with 344 at a strike rate of 129.81 and hit the fourth-most sixes in the competition with 18.

The 37-year-old was also one of just two players to score a century in BBL|08.

Past winners of the Mike Hussey Medal:

BBL|07 - Shane Watson

BBL|06 - Pat Cummins

BBL|05 - Shane Watson and Usman Khawaja

BBL|04 - Jacques Kallis

BBL|03 - Gurinder Sandhu

BBL|02 - Dirk Nannes

BBL|01 - Chris Gayle