Sydney Thunder are WBBLI06 Champions | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sydney Thunder are WBBLI06 Champions

28 November 2020

Thunder defeat Stars to claim second WBBL title

A brilliant performance by the Thunder bowling unit has set up a seven-wicket win over the Melbourne Stars in the WBBL|06 Final on Saturday night.

The table-topping Stars were restricted to 9-86 at North Sydney Oval which the Thunder chased down in 13.4 overs finishing 3-87. Thunder captain Rachael Haynes (21 not out form 17) and England skipper Heather Knight (26 not out from 19) guiding Thunder home.

It is the Thunder's first WBBL title since the inaugural season of the Women's Big Bash. Knight sealing the win with a six.

Pace bowlers Shabnim Ismail (2-12) and Sammy-Jo Johnson (2-11) set the tone, beating the bat several times with pace and swing.

Player of the Final Ismail picked up the vital wicket of Australian and Stars captain Meg Lanning (13), caught behind at the start of the seventh over, with the Stars 3-20. The South African speedster bowling her four overs at the start of the innings.

Haynes was outstanding in the field taking four catches which equalled the record for the most by one player in a WBBL match.

Every Thunder bowler used by captain Haynes took a wicket with one each to Hannah Darlington (1-15), Sam Bates (1-18), Lauren Smith (1-18) and Heather Knight (1-9).

Johnson’s 2 wickets took her to 22 for WBBL|06 and was the tournament’s leading wicket taker.

England captain Heather Knight passed Haynes' 426 runs in 2017/18 for most runs in one WBBL season. She finished on 446.

Shabnim Ismail.

Her pace up front and wicket of Lanning ultimately were crucial and she finished the tournament with 14 wickets.


Time to celebrate Thunder Nation!!!