Thunder fall to Sixers at Drummoyne Oval | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Erin Burns and Rene Farrell // Getty Images

Thunder fall to Sixers at Drummoyne Oval

15 November 2019

Opportunity to bounce back against the Brisbane Heat tomorrow

Sydney Thunder fell to crosstown rivals the Sydney Sixers by 40 runs at Drummoyne Oval after struggling to score against a strong Sixers attack in the second innings.

After winning the bat flip and electing to bowl first, Thunder were unable to break the formidable partnership between Australian internationals Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy.

Sam Bates finally got the breakthrough in the thirteenth over, combining with Rachel Priest to stump Healy.

Bates was the most effective of all Thunder bowlers, finishing with figures of 1/20 from her four overs.

Chasing 153 to win, Thunder lost key wickets early which interrupted momentum. Rene Farrell (23) and Hannah Darlington (23) fought until the very end however ultimately Thunder fell 40 runs short.


Thunder made one change to its side, with talented 16-year-old Phoebe Litchfield coming into the side for Naomi Stalenberg.

The Sixers named an unchanged line-up to the side that beat the Hobart Hurricanes by 39-runs on Thursday.

Thunder: Rachael Haynes (C), Sam Bates, Alex Blackwell, Nida Dar, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Lisa Griffith, Shabnim Ismail, Phoebe Litchfield, Rachel Priest, Tahlia Wilson

Sixers: Ellyse Perry (C), Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Maddy Darke, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Marizanne Kapp, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Dane van Neikerk


Chasing 153 to win, Thunder lost key wickets early and weren’t able to gain momentum. Openers Rachael Haynes (4) and Rachel Priest (16) were both dismissed in the power play, followed by Tahlia Wilson (2) and Alex Blackwell (7) before the halfway mark of the innings.


Thunder return to Drummoyne Oval to take on the Brisbane Heat on Saturday night (16 November, 7:10pm).

Tickets are on sale now at, with free entry for kids.

Fans across the Thunder Nation can watch live on the Seven Network and Fox Cricket, with radio coverage from ABC Grandstand.


Saturday 16 November | Vs Brisbane Heat | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Wednesday 27 November | Vs Melbourne Stars | Manuka Oval | 2.30PM

Wednesday 20 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | North Dalton Park | 2.30PM