Thunder lose out as rain forces early finish | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Jos Buttler and Brendon McCullum // Getty Images

Thunder lose out as rain forces early finish

08 January 2019

Heat claim 15-run victory under DLS method

Sydney Thunder has fallen to the Brisbane Heat by 15 runs under the DLS method after rain forced an early finish at Spotless Stadium.

Thunder skipper Shane Watson won the bat flip and elected to bowl first. With Max Bryant and Brendon McCullum in the middle, the Heat got off to a blistering start. Jono Cook finally got the first breakthrough in the eighth over, bowling the dangerous Bryant for 36. Chris Lynn picked up exactly where Bryant left off, putting together a 65-run partnership with McCullum before they were both caught out in quick succession, sparking a batting collapse. Heat lost 5-2 and however the efforts of their top order batters ensured they finished with a very competitive total of 8-186. 

In his last game of the season, Jos Buttler found the boundary with the first delivery however was trapped LBW by James Pattinson in the next over and dismissed for just 5. Callum Ferguson made a quickfire 16 from 12 deliveries before he was caught out. Shane Watson struggled to get going early and just as he found his touch and smashed a six out out of the stadium, rain started to fall and play was delayed.

“It’s always disappointing when weather intervenes. I thought we worked extremely hard to get back into the game. The first 10 overs we were outplayed but we fought really hard, we got back into a position where we thought we could chase it down on what is a really good surface. It’s such a shame that the weather came because it could have been quite an interesting game,” said Joe Root after the game.

“(Watson) was struggling to time it and he just looked like he’d found his swing and rhythm and I could see him going on and making a big score tonight. That was disappointing, not to be able to witness that at the other end and spend a bit more time out there in the middle with him.”


Thunder named an unchanged XI to the side that fell to the Melbourne Stars at Metricon Stadium on 5 January. The Heat made two changes with Marnus Labuschagne and Mitch Swepson coming back into their line up.

Sydney Thunder: Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Jos Buttler, Jono Cook, Callum Ferguson, Chris Green, Sam Rainbird, Joe Root, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha

Brisbane Heat: Chris Lynn (c), Max Bryant, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Marnus Labuschagne, Brendon McCullum, James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Matt Renshaw, Mitch Swepson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 


Jono Cook has impressed since making his debut at Spotless Stadium against the Sydney Sixers and continued that form tonight, taking 3-27 to pull Thunder right back into the game in the first innings. 


Thunder take on the Adelaide at Spotless Stadium on Sunday 13 January at 2:45pm.

Come along and meet Nickelodeon's Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles PLUS at the innings break we'll be sending one lucky family on a trip to Nickelodeon Land at Sea World on the Gold Coast!


13 JAN | v Adelaide Strikers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
22 JAN | v Melbourne Renegades | BBL | Spotless Stadium 
9 FEB | v Hobart Hurricanes | BBL | Manuka Oval