Thunder strike out in first outing of WBBLI07 | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Laura Wolvaardt and Issy Wong // Getty

Thunder strike out in first outing of WBBLI07

16 October 2021

A new-look Thunder side went down to the Strikers by 30 runs in Hobart

Defending champions Sydney Thunder have been soundly beaten in their first outing of WBBL|07, going down to an inspired Adelaide Strikers outfit by 30 runs.

Sent in by the Thunder, the Strikers were shaky at 3-26, but new skipper Tahlia McGrath stood up superbly with a 34-ball 42 to help her team to 7-140.

Then with ball in hand McGrath collected 3-17 as the Thunder were dismissed for 110 in 19.2 overs.

Adelaide were in early strife when Katie Mack (6) was bowled by left-arm spinner Sam Bates, before Dane van Niekerk fell to Sammy-Jo Johnson for 11 and Laura Wolvaardt was sent on her way for a golden duck.

Bridget Patterson’s departure for 11 had the Strikers 4-46, before McGrath set about rebuilding with Maddie Penna (35), the pair putting on 69 for the fifth wicket. Amanda-Jade Wellington put on the finishing flourish with an unbeaten 15 from 11 deliveries.

Defending a total that seemed about par, Darcie Brown (1-22) struck an enormous blow in the first over, as Penna completed a brilliant diving catch to remove Johnson (4).

McGrath collected the key wicket of Smriti Mandhana (4), and while Phoebe Litchfield (16), Corinne Hall (38) and Anika Learoyd (23) dug in, none could break the shackles imposed by the star-studded Strikers bowling attack.

A stunning boundary catch from Patterson put the icing on the 30-run win, as Adelaide marked themselves as a side to watch in WBBL|07.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|07 Schedule (All AEDT Start Times)

Sat 23 Oct | v Sydney Sixers | 3:40pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 24 Oct | v Perth Scorchers | 5:15pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues Oct 26 | v Melbourne Stars | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/

Wed 27 Oct | v Melbourne Renegades | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/

Sat 30 Oct | v Melbourne Stars | 4:05pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/

Sun 31 Oct | v Hobart Hurricanes | 10:15am | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 7 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 10:15am | Adelaide Oval | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues 9 Nov | v Adelaide Strikers | 6:00pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/

Thurs 11 Nov | v Perth Scorchers | 1:25pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/

Sun 14 Nov | v Sydney Sixers | 1:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Wed 17 Nov | v Melbourne Renegades | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/

Fri 19 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/

Sat 20 Nov | v Hobart Hurricanes | 3:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/