Thunder reach new high in win over Stars | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder reach new high in win over Stars

29 December 2020

Sydney Thunder posted a new club record score in an emphatic win at Manuka Oval highlighted by 71 from 29 by Alex Hales

The fastest fifty in club history from Alex Hales has set up Thunder’s highest BBL score in a 75-run win over the Melbourne Stars in Canberra for the final time this season.

Only three days after this Thunder team set a new mark for the club's highest total of 209, they bettered that on Tuesday night reaching 7/219 at Manuka Oval. It was also the equal third highest total in BBL history.

Thunder’s bowling attack bowled out the Stars for 144 in 19.5 overs, reversing the result of their first match in BBL|10.

Hales scored the fastest fifty in Thunder history reaching the mark in 21 balls. He made 71 from just 29 balls.

His innings included five sixes.

Off-spinner Chris Green claimed career best BBL figures of 4-34 from his four overs. Thunder’s fourth straight win moves them back to second on the BBL|10 table behind cross-town rivals the Sydney Sixers.

The match was England International Sam Billings' first game in lime green and also saw the return of fast bowler Chris Tremain (2-27).

Hales was strongly supported by his captain Callum Ferguson who scored his third half-century in five matches.

Ferguson scored 51 from 33 balls in the record score. Allrounder Ben Cutting took Thunder past 200 racing to 20 not out from seven balls at the end.

Opener Usman Khawaja also looked good for his 37 off 31.

Joining Green as multiple wicket takers for the Thunder were Tremain and 19-year-old leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha (2-17).

Leading wicket taker in BBL|09, Daniel Sams took 1-27 in the win. Former Thunder spinner, and one of the world’s best, Adam Zampa claimed 3-49 for the Stars.


Alex Hales.

Thunder's star English opener passed 700 BBL runs in lime green on his way to the fastest fifty in club history.

He hit five sixes and eight fours.


Thunder now bid a fond farewell to Canberra for Queensland with their next match on New Year's Day against the Melbourne Renegades at Gold Coast's Metricon Stadium. Live from 7.15pm (AEDT) on Fox Cricket, Kayo and SEN Radio.

Sydney Thunder BBL|10 Fixtures

Fri 1 Jan | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Metricon Stadium | 7:15pm

Mon 4 Jan | Vs Brisbane Heat | The Gabba | 7:15pm

Thurs 7 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Optus Stadium | 6:10pm

Sat 9 Jan | Vs Perth Scorchers | Optus Stadium | 7:15pm

Wed 13 Jan | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:15pm

Mon 18 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:15pm

Fri 22 Jan | Vs Sydney Sixers | SCG | 7:15pm

Sun 24 Jan | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 4:05pm

Mon 25 Jan | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:15pm

Sydney Thunder Memberships

Memberships start from $40 and offer access to a host of new benefits and exclusive discounts. View all packages here.

All Thunder Members will get priority access to BBL|10 tickets plus a 20% discount.

For more information or to join the Thunder Nation, please contact our Membership Team on 02 8302 6092.