Head to head: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Head to head: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder

01 December 2018

Nicola Carey // Getty Images

Everything you need to know about Thunder’s first match of WBBL|04

Match information:

Date: Sunday 2 December

Location: CitiPower Centre

Start time: 1:50PM AEDT

How to watch:

Tickets: FREE

Broadcast: Live on 7mate and Fox Cricket from 1:30PM AEDT

Streaming: Cricket Australia Live app

Radio: ABC Grandstand

Last time they met:

Thunder (6-69) beat Renegades (68) by four wickets in a low-scoring match at Manuka Oval.

Player-of-the-match Nicola Carey (3-10) led the Thunder attack, supported by Rene Farrell (2-10) and Stafanie Taylor (2-11), to knock over the Renegades for 68 with 4.1 overs to spare.

Thunder made hard work of the chase, reaching the low total with just four wickets and four overs left. Rachael Haynes top-scored with 37 but wickets fell regularly as Hayley Jensen (3-11) and Molly Strano (2-16) bowled brilliantly.

Lisa Griffith on Renegades:

“They’re a competitive side, they’ve got a fair few experienced players and their internationals are really strong in Lea Tahuhu and Amy Satterthwaite. They probably struggled a little bit last year so they’ll be looking to bounce back and stamp their mark on the competition.”

Did you know:

Two players will come up against their old side!

Keeper Rachel Priest captained the Renegades in WBBL|02 before joining Thunder last season.

All-rounder Claire Koski played for Thunder before joining the Renegades for WBBL|03.


Renegades: Amy Satterthwaite (C), Maitlan Brown, Zoe Cooke, Jess Duffin, Claire Koski, Erica Kershaw, Emma Inglis, Anna Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb, Danni Wyatt.

Thunder: Alex Blackwell (C), Sam Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Saskia Horley, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Stafanie Taylor, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa.

Tickets to watch Sydney Thunder WBBL in action in Sydney:

9 DEC | vs Brisbane Heat | North Sydney Oval

5 JAN | vs Melbourne Stars | Blacktown International Sportspark

6 JAN | vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval