Jay Lenton Joins List For BBL07 | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Jay Lenton Joins List For BBL07

27 October 2017

Jay Lenton

Keeper played five games last season

Sydney Thunder has announced the signing of wicket-keeper Jay Lenton after featuring five times last season as an injury replacement player.

Lenton was a standout performer during Thunder’s pre-season tour ahead of BBL06 with scores of 73 against a Canterbury XI in New Zealand and 61 against the Melbourne Stars in Albury.

The Thunder Academy graduate made his debut in Perth against the Scorchers, stumping former England international Ian Bell.

“Getting to make by debut at the WACA last year was my highlight, with Watto presenting me my cap and meeting Adam Gilchrist my hero was a wonderful night,” said Jay Lenton.

“When we pack Spotless out with 20,000 people, it’s such a great atmosphere. You feel so close to everyone.

“Watching Eoin Morgan’s six against the Stars and the feeling of the crowd erupting was fantastic and something I’ll never forget.

“Its an extended Big Bash this season and I’d like to play all ten games if that was possible. As we saw last year it was very close, with us just one win away from finals.

“I’d like us to get to the semi finals and hopefully I can do what I can for the team to get us there.”

Sydney Thunder’s Director of Cricket Michael Hussey was impressed with Lenton’s technical ability behind the stumps and is keen to see him develop further.

“Jay performed well ahead of last season in tour games in New Zealand and Albury-Wodonga,” said Sydney Thunder Director of Cricket Michael Hussey.

“He’s fast become a popular member of our squad and is constantly working hard to improve his game behind the stumps and with the bat.

“We’re keen to see him keep developing and look forward to see him return for BBL07.”

Sydney Thunder will open their BBL07 campaign on 19 December against cross-town rivals the Sydney Sixers at Spotless Stadium.

BBL07 Squad: Shane Watson (c), Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Jay Lenton, Mitchell McClenaghan, Clint McKay, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer.
Director of Cricket: Michael Hussey
Head Coach: Paddy Upton
Assistant Coaches: Shawn Bradstreet and Beau Casson