India Make Changes To Australia ODI Series | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

India Make Changes To Australia ODI Series

11 September 2017

India celebrate //Getty Images

Thunder star Pat Cummins set to star for Australia

India have opted to rest spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja for the first three matches of their upcoming ODI series against Australia.

India recently beat Sri Lanka 5-0, in which Ashwin and Jadeja were also committed. 

"The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested," said Selector MSK Prasad. 

"The team's performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours."

Sydney Thunder’s Pat Cummins has been named in the Australia squad for the series.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

First ODI - MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, September 17 

Second ODI - Eden Gardens, Kolkata, September 21 

Third ODI - Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore, September 24 

Fourth ODI - M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, September 28 

Fifth ODI - Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur, October 1 

Top Stories