Final four set for HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup semi-finals | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Final four set for HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup semi-finals

05 November 2019

Semi-finals to be held in coming weeks

India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have progressed through to the semi-finals of the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup, after strong performances at the Finals Day this weekend.

Held at The King’s School in North Parramatta, the T10 cricket event featured teams representing eight different communities, all vying for a place in the next stage.

All players were selected from community trials, held across the Thunder Nation throughout September and October.

Featuring players from various walks of life and all on different journeys, the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup exists to connect communities and to celebrate culture and diversity through cricket.

After the group stage on Finals Day, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka progressed to the semi-finals stage however rain intervened, and the fixtures had to be postponed.

The date for the semi-finals will be announced in the coming week, with the fixtures to be played in the coming weeks.

Earlier in the day, India moved through their group stage undefeated with victories over Bangladesh, Fiji and Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka, who lost on the last ball in last year’s semi-final, will have the chance for redemption when they face Pakistan in this year’s semi-final.

Pakistan, who have made three grand final appearance across the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup, will be looking to improve on last year’s result, while Nepal overcame defending champions Afghanistan in their group and will be looking to feature in back-to-back grand finals.

The winners of the two semi-final fixtures will contest the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup grand final on 6 January 2020.

Semi-Final 1: India vs Nepal

Semi-Final 2: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

For more information, please contact Sydney Thunder.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|05 Tickets

Saturday 26 October | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Blacktown International Sportspark | 7.00PM

Sunday 27 October | Vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval | 2.00PM

Friday 15 November | Vs Sydney Sixers | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Saturday 16 November | Vs Brisbane Heat | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Wednesday 27 November | Vs Melbourne Stars | Manuka Oval | 2.30PM

Wednesday 20 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | North Dalton Park | 2.30PM

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Tickets

Saturday 21 December 2019 | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3.40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7.10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6.10PM

15 January 2020 | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7.10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2.45PM

Sydney Thunder Memberships

Flexible 2-Game Memberships are available from $45, while Full Season Memberships are available from $80. View all packages here.

For more information or to join the Thunder Nation, please contact our Membership Team on 02 8302 6006.