Team India confirmed after competitive trial session | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Team India confirmed after competitive trial session

16 March 2022

10-player squad locked in ahead of this weekend's ninth annual HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup

A 10-player squad has been selected to represent the Indian community at this weekend's HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup following a competitive trial session in at the Cricket NSW indoor nets.

The Indian community turned out in force, with more than 60 individuals vying for the opportunity to represent the most successful team in HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup history.

The reigning champions will be looking to go back-to-back and add a fourth title to their collection.

The 10-player squad features a mix of familiar faces and first-time representatives, a testament to the enthusiam and skill of the Indian community.

Second-time representative Smit Doshi’s excitement was obvious as he described what his selection meant to him.

"It is incredible to bring our community together through sport," said Doshi, who plays for Blacktown Mounties District Cricket Club.

"Cricket is one of the biggest sports in India so it's great to see our community come together here in Sydney and take part in the game we all love.

"It's an incredible honour to be picked to represent the Indian community across the Thunder Nation. Hopefully we can make everyone proud.

"We'll be aiming to win again - looking for number trophy number 4!"

Trudi Busch, Director of Marketing, Sponsorship and Community at HomeWorld, said the reason HomeWorld – who manage and develop the largest new home display villages across NSW – continue to support the Thunder Nation Cup is because its values extend beyond the cricket field.

“We are committed to partnering with Sydney Thunder to deliver the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup each year,” said Busch.

“Not only is it an important initiative that brings communities together, but it is a wonderful celebration of cricket and culture. 

“We look forward to watching the tournament being played, and the pride and passion that each player will bring to their game as they represent their country.”

Team India - HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup

Arun Chauhan (C)

Smit Doshi

Siddarth Peepat

Dhiraj Sharma

Kunwardeep Singh Brar

Mandar Marigudi

Javed Ahmed Mohammad

Pushpinder Jassal

Eknoor Singh

Vishesh Chaudhary

Teams representing six nations - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka - will contest the ninth annual HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup this weekend at Raby Sports Complex in Campbelltown. 

To learn more about the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup, please click here.