History of the Sydney Smash | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

History of the Sydney Smash

12 January 2017

(L to R) Brad Haddin watches on as Kurtis Patterson in Sydney Smash X and Fidel Edwards eyes off Moises Henriques in Sydney Smash I

With the eleventh Sydney Smash fast approaching it's time to look back at the previous 10 clashes between the Thunder and the Sixers since BBL01.

Sydney Smash I - Stadium Australia, January 8, 2012.

Rain interrupted the first meeting of the two Sydney sides in the new competition as the Sixers won the encounter by 17 runs under the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Peter Nevill slammed 24 from 16 balls as Ben Rohrer top scored for the men in magenta with 38 from 24 balls.

Sean Abbott was the pick of the bowlers for the Thunder with 2/17 from his two overs with West Indians Fidel Edwards and Chris Gayle also taking a scalp each.

Rain reduced the Thunder's innings to just 5.3 overs with a revised target of 47 to win.

Gayle, Dan Smith and Ben Dunk all failed to trouble the scorers with Mitchell Starc picking up three wickets.

Usman Khawaja finished not out on 11 and Jason Floros top scored with 15 as the Thunder fell short.

Sydney Smash II - SCG, December 8, 2012

The Sixers claimed their second consecutive Sydney Smash win with a thrilling seven wicket victory with just eight balls remaining.

New Zealander Martin Guptil, Sean Abbott and Chris Rogers all made it into the twenties as Ryan Carters top scored with 34 from 24 balls.

The Thunder's total of 5/143 was never really enough as Brad Haddin (59) and Steve Smith (41) guided the home side to victory.

Paceman Chris Tremain picked up two wickets on his T20 debut as Abbott claimed the only other wicket.

Sydney Smash III - Stadium Australia, December 30, 2012.

Despite the batting heroics of Usman Khawaja and the bowling efforts of Dirk Nannes, the Thunder slimmed to their third straight loss against the Sixers to the tune of four wickets.

Khawaja belted 66 from 47 balls as the Thunder posted just 132 from their 30 overs.

Despite Nannes' three wickets, the Sixers reached the target with six balls and four wickets to spare thanks to an unbeaten 51 from Daniel Hughes.

Sydney Smash IV – SCG, 21 December 2013

Batting first and featuring a starstudded line-up, the Thunder posted a more than competitive total of 6/166.

David Warner slammed 50 from just 31 balls and Khawaja top scored with 66 from 51 deliveries.

It wasn’t enough though as a quickfire 61 from Nic Maddinson guided the Sixers to a six wicket victory with 10 balls to spare.

Sydney Smash V – Stadium Australia, January 25, 2014

A vastly different Thunder XI took on the Sixers in the second Sydney Smash of BBL03 but it couldn’t produce their first win against their cross-town rivals.

Again batting first, the Thunder could only manage 128 from their 20 overs with Daniel Hughes hitting 32.

Maddinson again tormented the home side, racing to 59 not out as the Sixers cruised to victory with four balls and eight wickets to spare.

Sydney Smash VI – Stadium Australia, December 27, 2014

Despite some tight bowling from Gurinder Sandhu and Pat Cummins, and some incredible batting from Aiden Blizzard the Thunder couldn’t land their first win against the Sixers.

Riki Wessels belted 50 from 33 balls as the Sixers set the Thunder an imposing total of 181 to win.

Blizzard did everything he could to get the Thunder over the line, destroying the Sixers’ attack as he made 80 off just 42 balls.

Despite his best efforts and a swift 29 from Daniel Hughes the Thunder ran out of overs, 16 runs short of their target.

Sydney Smash VII – SCG, January 22, 2015

In one of the all time great T20 matches played at the SCG it was a final ball four that handed the Sixers the most unlikely of wins.

Half centuries to Jaques Kallis (56 off 43) and Blizzard (51 off 36) saw the Thunder set the Sixers a target of 154 to win.

Josh Lalor picked up four wickets as Chris Green conceded just 14 runs from his four overs on debut but it wasn’t enough for the Thunder to get their first win over the Sixers in BBL history.

At 5/75 in the 14th over, the Sixers were in dire straights before Jordan Silk turned the game on its head.

Needing 23 to win off the final over, Silk and Steve O’Keefe combined to bring the Sixers within eight runs of victory with two balls to spare.

O’Keefe – who had only faced one until this point delivery – hit both balls for four to pull off an incredible victory.

Silk finished unbeaten having slammed 69 not out off just 43 balls including five sixes.

Sydney Smash VIII – Spotless Stadium, December 17, 2015

Finally, the breakthrough the Thunder had been waiting ever so patiently for.

Thunder captain Michael Hussey was at his very best in the Thunder’s first match at Spotless Stadium, dispatching the Sixers attack for four sixes and five fours as he finished unbeaten on 80 from 59 balls.

Chasing 159 to win, the Sixers never looked likely, as Andre Russell ripped apart their top order taking 3/13 and Shane Watson tore through the middle claiming 3/13 from just two overs.

The Thunder Finally had their first win over the Sixers in a Sydney Smash, to the tune of 36 runs.

Sydney Smash IX – SCG, January 16, 2016.

It was a night to remember for the Sydney Thunder as they destroyed their old foe by 46 runs at the SCG.

Watson blasted 66 from 41 balls as the Thunder posted 5/202 from their 20 overs, with Michael Hussey (41 off 29) and Andre Russell (46 from 20) helping the run-rate stay above 10 per over.

Despite a quick 77 from 40 balls from the Sixers’ Maddinson, the bowling efforts of Green, Clint McKay and Fawad Ahmed had the Sixers’ innings wrapped up in the 18th over, well shy of their target.

Sydney Smash X – Spotless Stadium, December 20, 2016

The 46 run demolition to end BBL05 was still fresh in the mind of the Sydney Sixers when they arrived at Spotless Stadium for the opening fixture of BBL06.

Batting first the Thunder posted a competitive 8/159 with Ryan Gibson sparkling on debut with 53 off 43 balls.

Moises Henriques didn’t let the total phase him as Sixers’ captain smashed an unbeaten 76 from 41 balls to guide his side to a nine wicket win.

Former Thunder man Daniel Hughes was brutal with his knock of 54 from 49 balls anchoring the Sixers’ innings.