Thunder Ready For Heat In Brisbane | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Ready For Heat In Brisbane

26 January 2018

Sydney Thunder//Getty Images

The Thunder have arrived in Brisbane ahead of their final regular season matches against the Heat

The Thunder have named an extended 15-player squad for our two Rebel Women's Big Bash League matches this weekend against the Brisbane Heat in Queensland. 

Currently sitting two points clear on top of the ladder, the Thunder will be looking to secure top spot at the end of the regular season and gain plenty of momentum leading into the finals next week. 

Thunder pace bowler Rene Farrell, who has taken 13 wickets so far in WBBL|03 with an economy rate of 5.72, is hoping to continue with the success of their recent win in Canberra against the Renegades on Wednesday. 

" It's really nice weather up here and hopefully it will swing a bit for our bowling group which is exciting," said Rene Farrell

"We were really happy with the win down in Canberra. It was great to get down there and play some cricket at Manuka Oval and the fan base down there was fantastic.

"We probably won't get that support up here but we are really excited to be playing in Brisbane." 

Brisbane Heats opening batter Beth Mooney is currently the third top scorer in the competition with 438 runs and will be a crucial early wicket for our opening bowlers. 

"Mooney is a good mate of mine so I'd love to get her out. She is a class player," said Farrell 

"She is not the ICC T20 Player of the Year for nothing but hopefully she doesn't get runs against us." 

Sydney Thunder’s 15-player Rebel Women’s Big Bash League squad to face the Brisbane Heat
Alex Blackwell ©
Sam Bates
Nicola Carey
Rene Farrell
Maisy Gibson
Lisa Griffith
Rachael Haynes
Fran Wilson
Rachel Priest
Naomi Stalenberg
Stafanie Taylor
Rachel Trenaman
Belinda Vakarewa
Hannah Darlington
Hannah Trethewy

Match Details 
Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat, Sat 27 Jan, 2.30 AEDT, The Gabba, Brisbane
Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat, Sun 28 Jan, 3.00pm AEDT, Alan Border Field, Brisbane

Both matches will be streamed live on and