Head to head: Thunder vs Hurricanes | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Head to head: Thunder vs Hurricanes

08 February 2019

Callum Ferguson // Getty Images

Everything you need to know about the Manuka Oval clash

Match information:

Date: Saturday 9 February

Location: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Start time: 6:15PM AEDT

How to watch:

Tickets: Final release tickets on sale now!

Broadcast: Live on Fox Cricket and ABC Grandstand

Head to head:

Hurricanes seven wins, Thunder two wins.

Last time they met:

Hurricanes (3-196) narrowly defeated Thunder (6-193) by seven wickets at Blundstone Arena.

Jos Buttler scored a brilliant 89 from 54 deliveries to help Thunder post a strong total of 193, the highest of any team in BBL|08 at that point, however the Hurricanes were up for the chase.

Needing 194 to win, Matthew Wade and D'Arcy Short put together a monster opening partnership of 120 runs from 12.1 overs before Thunder finally got the breakthrough, running out Short for 58. The Hurricanes' momentum slowed significantly however the home side were able to clinch victory with five balls to spare.

The season so far:

With a win-loss record of 5-7-1, Thunder sit just outside the top four on the ladder. After consecutive losses to the Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers, Thunder must win this game to stay in finals contention.


After a dominant season, the Hurricanes sit two games clear on top of the ladder with a win loss-record of 10-3. The side is coming off the back of a convincing 16 run win over the Melbourne Renegades at home on Thursday night.


Thunder are set to be bolstered by the return of Test stars Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja and Kurtis Patterson after the trio were released by Cricket Australia.

Thunder: Shane Watson (C), Fawad Ahmed, Jos Buttler, Pat Cummins, Anton Devcich (*international replacement), Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Baxter Holt (*local replacement), Chris Jordan (*international replacement), Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Sam Rainbird, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Joe Root, Jono Cook (*local replacement).

Hurricanes: Matthew Wade (c), Jofra Archer, George Bailey, Johan Botha, Alex Doolan, Jake Doran, James Faulkner, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, Tymal Mills, David Moody, Tim Paine, Thomas Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Aaron Summers.

Plan your weekend:

Canberra is a city full of surprises and unexpected gems. Plan your perfect weekend at https://visitcanberra.com.au/.