Head to head: Heat vs Thunder | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Head to head: Heat vs Thunder

11 January 2019

Harmanpreet Kaur // Getty Images

Everything you need to know about Thunder’s final game of WBBL|04

Match information:

Date: Saturday 12 January 2019

Location: Cazaly’s Stadium, Cairns

Start time: 7:15PM AEDT (6:15PM AEST)

How to watch: Streamed live and free at cricket.com.au and via the CA Live app

Last time they met:

Thunder (4-192) beat Heat (164) by 28-runs in a convincing performance at North Sydney Oval.

Opening duo Rachael Haynes and Rachel Priest set the game up with an 89-run partnership although were fortunate at times with the Heat dropping five catches during the first six overs. They set a great platform for player-of-the-match Harmanpreet Kaur to come in and score an impressive half century for Thunder to finish on 4-192.

Heat's Grace Harris made 54 and put Thunder under pressure early on during the second innings however Maisy Gibson (3-18 from three overs) and Stafanie Taylor (3-23 from 3.5) spun Thunder out of trouble.

The season so far:

Thunder made a great start to WBBL|04, winning six of their first seven matches before narrowly losing back-to-back games against the Scorchers in Perth. However the WBBL|01 champions bounced back with three consecutive wins over the Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades.

Heat have enjoyed their equal most successful WBBL campaign yet, winning eight of their 13 matches so far to lock in their second finals appearance. They enter this game off the back of a dominant win over the Melbourne Stars at home.

Did you know:

There’s a chance Thunder and Heat could meet again next weekend in the semi-finals, with both sides having already secured places in the top four.

The semi-finals will both take place at on Saturday 19 January at Drummoyne Oval in one huge day of WBBL action.


Heat: Kirby Short (C), Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Josie Dooley, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen, Charli Knott, Delissa Kimmince, Sune Luus, Beth Mooney, Georgia Prestwidge, Courtney Sippel, Laura Wolvaardt.

Thunder: Alex Blackwell (C), Sam Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Saskia Horley, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Stafanie Taylor, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa.