Haynes selected for New Zealand series | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Haynes selected for New Zealand series

21 August 2020

Rachael Haynes // Getty

Rose Bowl Trophy series scheduled for September

Sydney Thunder captain Rachael Haynes has been named in an 18-player Australian squad for three One-Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals against New Zealand scheduled for September.

Haynes is vice-captain of the Australian team and was a pivotal member of Australia’s success at the Women’s T20 World Cup, on home soil, earlier this year.

The coveted Rose Bowl Trophy will be up for grabs during the ODI series. Australia is the current holder of the Rose Bowl having defeated New Zealand 3-0 in their last encounter in 2019.

The schedule for the series has matches in both New South Wales and Queensland but given the current situation changes may be required. Cricket Australia will continue to work with relevant authorities and advise any changes.

18-player Australian squad for the Commonwealth Bank T20I and ODI series against New Zealand in September:

Meg Lanning (c) (VIC)

Rachael Haynes (vc) (NSW)

Maitlan Brown (ACT)

Erin Burns (NSW)

Nicola Carey (TAS)

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW)

Alyssa Healy (NSW)

Jess Jonassen (QLD)

Delissa Kimmince (QLD)

Tahlia McGrath (SA)

Sophie Molineux (VIC)

Beth Mooney (QLD)

Ellyse Perry (VIC) *subject to fitness

Megan Schutt (SA)

Molly Strano (VIC)

Annabel Sutherland (VIC)

Georgia Wareham (VIC)

Belinda Vakarewa (TAS)

Sydney Thunder is set to open its sixth rebel Women's Big Bash League campaign on 17 October against the Scorchers in Perth.

The fixture builds on the tremendous success of the inaugural standalone season in 2019-20, with a full 59-game fixture has been scheduled across October and November.

Sydney Thunder WBBL Squad

Head Coach: Trevor Griffin

Contracted for WBBL|06: Rachael Haynes (C), Sam Bates, Hannah Darlington, Saskia Horley, Shabnim Ismail, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Phoebe Litchfield, Lauren Smith, Rachel Trenaman, Tahlia Wilson

Sydney Thunder WBBL|06 Fixtures

Sat 17 Oct | Vs Perth Scorchers | Perth | 5:00PM

Sun 18 Oct | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Perth | 1:00PM

Sat 24 Oct | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Karen Rolton Oval | 2:30PM

Sun 25 Oct | Vs Brisbane Heat | Karen Rolton Oval | 10:20AM

Wed 18 Oct | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Hurstville Oval | 2:00PM

Sat 31 Oct | Vs Perth Scorchers | North Sydney Oval | 12:15PM

Sun 1 Nov | Vs Melbourne Stars | North Sydney Oval | 10:20AM

Sat 7 Nov | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Blacktown Intl Sportspark | 10:00AM

Sun 8 Nov | Vs Sydney Sixers | North Sydney Oval | 1:45PM

Tues 10 Nov | Vs Melbourne Stars | Blacktown Intl Sportspark | 6:30PM

Sat 14 Nov | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Blacktown Intl Sportspark | 10:00AM

Sun 15 Nov | Vs Sydney Sixers | North Sydney Oval | 1:45PM

Sat 21 Nov | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Melbourne | 10:00AM

Sun 22 Nov | Vs Brisbane Heat | Melbourne | 10:00AM

Join the Sydney Thunder mailing list to stay up to date with all the latest team news, competitions, membership and ticketing announcements.