Haynes And Watson Win Thunder Awards | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Haynes And Watson Win Thunder Awards

06 April 2018

Shane Watson //Getty Images

Thunder stars celebrated at Cricket NSW Awards

Sydney Thunder captain Shane Watson and opening batter Rachael Haynes have both been recognised at the 16th annual Cricket NSW Awards held at the Sydney's Hyatt Regency on Thursday night.

Coming off a successful series against England where she captained Australia to retaining the multi-format Ashes, Haynes made four half centuries to help Sydney Thunder finish second on the ladder. 

"Despite the fact we didn't quite finish the season how we would have liked, it was a really enjoyable one with the Thunder," said Rachael Haynes. 

"I just want to take the time to thank everyone involved with the club from our support staff to the administrative office who have done a fantastic job in supporting us. 

"I'm really looking forward to next season."

Haynes scored 426 runs with a highest score of 78 not out. 

Sydney Thunder captain Shane Watson once again showed his class for the Thunder, picking up the Mike Hussey Medal through the 3-2-1 vote by players at the end of each game. 

“It really is an honour to be awarded the Mike Hussey Medal for last season’s BBL,” said Shane Watson.

“With so many talented players in the Thunder squad it really does mean a lot.”

Watson finished in the top five run scorers for the BBL.

Sydney Thunder General Manager Lee Germon paid tribute to the winners.

"I would like to congratulate both Rachael and Shane on their well deserved awards," said Sydney Thunder General Manager Lee Germon. 

"The WBBL Player of the Tournament and the Mike Hussey Medal are very highly respected accolades by both the club and the players.

"As well as outstanding on field performances this season both Rachael and Shane exhibit our club values of passion, humility and inclusiveness."

Sydney Thunder WBBL Player of the Tournament

1.    Rachael Haynes        
2.    Rene Farrell        
3.    Nicola Carey        
4.    Alex Blackwell    

Mike Hussey Medal (Sydney Thunder BBL Player Of The Tournament)

1.    Shane Watson
2.    Chris Green
3.    Fawad Ahmed
4.    Arjun Nair

Previous Winners

WBBL Player Of The Tournament

WBBL|02 - Harmanpreet Kaur
WBBL|01 - Stafanie Taylor

BBL Player Of The Tournament (Mike Hussey Medal)

BBL|06 - Pat Cummins
BBL|05 - Shane Watson and Usman Khawaja
BBL|04 - Jacques Kallis
BBL|03 - Gurinder Sandhu
BBL|02 - Dirk Nannes
BBL|01 - Chris Gayle