Hatcher Signs Up As Member Total Passes 4,000 Landmark | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Hatcher Signs Up As Member Total Passes 4,000 Landmark

01 December 2017

Liam Hatcher

Former Development Rookie Signs Full Contract

Sydney Thunder has signed right-arm quick Liam Hatcher for the upcoming KFC Big Bash League season as the club passes 4,000 members.

Hatcher was the club’s Development Rookie last season and is another graduate of the highly acclaimed Thunder Academy. The former Australia Under 19’s seamer has played five List A games and a First Class game. 

“I learnt a lot last year as the rooki,e spending time around some top players,” said Hatcher.

“Hopefully we can build on last year and replicate the BBL|05 and win the competition.

“Personally I want to learn as much as I can. Having Shane Watson as captain is perfect as he is one of the most experienced T20 bowlers in the world.

“As a team we obviously want to win it, if you reach one of those four final spots then anything is possible.”

Hatcher has been part of Thunder’s Academy for the past three seasons and was named in the 12-player squad to face the Sydney Sixers at the SCG last season.

Sydney Thunder are targeting passing last year’s total membership of 6,000, which also saw four sell out fixtures at Spotless Stadium last season.

“We’ve once again seen fantastic support from our Members,” said Sydney Thunder General Manager Lee Germon.

“Ticket sales for our opening game against the Sydney Sixers is higher than we’ve ever experienced, meaning that becoming a member has never been more important.

“Liam is another exciting young talent who we are pleased to continuing to develop his game with Sydney Thunder.”

The club’s most popular membership category the Sydney Smash Membership has already sold out, with only a handful remaining Captains’ Club Memberships remaining. Sydney Thunder Full Game and Two Game packages are still available and can be purchased at sydneythunder.com.au/memberships or by calling 02 8302 6006.

Sydney Thunder open their Rebel Women’s Big Bash League campaign on 9 December at North Sydney Oval before the KFC Big Bash League season kicks off on 19 December at Spotless Stadium when Sydney Thunder take on the Sydney Sixers. 

BBL|07 Squad: Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Jos Buttler, Pat Cummins, Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Jay Lenton, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell McClenaghan, Arjun Nair, Clint McKay, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Gurinder Sandhu.

Development Rookie: Param Uppal

Thunder Foundation Scholar: Jason Sangha 

ACT & Regional NSW Rookie: Blake Macdonald 

Director of Cricket: Michael Hussey

Head Coach: Paddy Upton

Assistant Coaches: Shawn Bradstreet and Beau Casson

Sydney Thunder Members receive exclusive access to our pre and post game functions, while full season Members also receive free admission to a day of the 2018 Royal Easter Show and Wet'n'Wild Sydney.


Captains’ Club from $265 - LAST FEW REMAINING!
Sydney Smash General Admission Membership – SOLD OUT
Sydney Smash Reserved Membership – SOLD OUT
Full Season Reserved Seating Membership from $110
Full Season General Admission Membership from $85
Two Game General Admission Membership from $50
Interstate Membership from $50 Regional Membership from $50
Supporter (Non-Ticketed) Membership from $30
Thor’s Thunder Club from $25

Memberships are available HERE or by calling 02 8302 6006.