Hannah Darlington named captain for WBBLI07 | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Hannah Darlington named captain for WBBLI07

14 October 2021

Young gun the "natural choice" to stand in for Rachael Haynes

Sydney Thunder has named 19-year-old Hannah Darlington as its captain for the upcoming WBBL|07 season.

Darlington stands in for Rachael Haynes, who told the team she won’t be joining it in the immediate future after the birth of her son Hugo, and other factors.

Darlington, who was raised in Sydney’s western suburbs, said she was honoured to captain the side she has followed since WBBL|01.

"I've been part of this club for nearly five years now and supported it all the way through, so to have the opportunity to step in for Rach is pretty special and I'm ready to lead a team that I'm really passionate about," she said.

Check out the video below to hear more from Thunder's new captain.

Coach Trevor Griffin said Darlington was the "natural choice" to replace Haynes.

"Hannah is somebody who is passionate about the Thunder Nation, and she's shown leadership qualities over the last two seasons and was just a natural choice," he said.

"She's somebody that the team hold in high regard, and she goes out onto the field with real passion in her heart and lives and breathes our culture."

Thunder's title defence begins on Saturday night against the Adelaide Strikers at Blundstone Arena. Fans can watch live on Seven, Foxtel and Kayo from 7:05pm AEDT.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|07 Schedule (All AEDT Start Times)

Sat 16 Oct | v Adelaide Strikers | 7:05pm | Blundstone Arena | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sat 23 Oct | v Sydney Sixers | 3:40pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 24 Oct | v Perth Scorchers | 5:15pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues Oct 26 | v Melbourne Stars | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Wed 27 Oct | v Melbourne Renegades | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sat 30 Oct | v Melbourne Stars | 4:05pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sun 31 Oct | v Hobart Hurricanes | 10:15am | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 7 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 10:15am | Adelaide Oval | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues 9 Nov | v Adelaide Strikers | 6:00pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Thurs 11 Nov | v Perth Scorchers | 1:25pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sun 14 Nov | v Sydney Sixers | 1:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Wed 17 Nov | v Melbourne Renegades | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Fri 19 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sat 20 Nov | v Hobart Hurricanes | 3:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au