From Thunder Academy to Australian squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

From Thunder Academy to Australian squad

23 February 2021

Rising star Hannah Darlington named in national squad for upcoming tour of New Zealand

Sydney Thunder young gun Hannah Darlington has been named in Australia’s squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Tour of New Zealand.

Australia will take on the White Ferns in three T20 Internationals from 28 March, before the coveted Rose Bowl Trophy goes on the line in three One-Day Internationals from 4 April.

After being named the WBBL|05 Rebel Young Gun, Darlington continued to make her presence felt in elite company during Thunder’s WBBL|06 title-winning campaign.

The 19-year-old all-rounder claimed 19 wickets at an average of just 13.68 and an economy rate of 6.19 to finish second on the overall league wickets table.

The talented teen cemented herself as one of the league's best death bowlers, with her changes of pace and match-winning yorkers forming a crucial part of Thunder's title-winning bowling attack.

As a result of her standout performances, she was voted by her peers as the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year.

It's been a rapid rise to Australian selection for Darlington, who became the first graudate of the Thunder Academy in 2017. 

A proud Kamilaroi woman, Darlington captained the club’s first women's Indigenous side in 2018.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander T20 Cup is a celebration of culture and community, with Indigenous people of all backgrounds united by a shared passion for cricket.

National Selector Shawn Flegler said Darlington impressed the selectors with her “skill and professionalism… after playing a crucial part in the Sydney Thunder’s rebel WBBL|06 championship.”

Darlington is joined in the Australian squad by Thunder captain and reigning Women’s One-Day International Player of the Year Rachael Haynes.

CommBank Tour of New Zealand 2021

Australia ODI and T20I Squad: Meg Lanning (C), Rachael Haynes (VC), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Belinda Vakarewa, Tayla Vlaeminck

1st T20: 28 March, Seddon Park, Hamilton, 5.10pm AEDT

2nd T20: 30 March, McLean Park, Napier, 1pm AEDT

3rd T20: 1 April, Eden Park, Auckland, 1pm AEDT

1st ODI: 4 April, Bay Oval, Tauranga, 9am AEDT

2nd ODI: 7 April, Bay Oval, Tauranga, 12noon AEDT

3rd ODI: 10 April, Bay Oval, Tauranga, 12noon AEDT

All matches will be shown live in Australia on Fox Cricket and Kayo