Four Thunder Nation Stars Selected For Ashes | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Four Thunder Nation Stars Selected For Ashes

31 July 2019

Usman Khawaja // Ian Bird

First Test begins on 1 August at Edgbaston

Four Thunder Nation stars have been selected for the upcoming Ashes series in England, beginning on Thursday 1 August at Edgbaston.


Usman Khawaja and Pat Cummins have been named in Australia’s 17-man squad, while Jos Buttler and Joe Root are set to line up for England.

Khawaja has been undergoing rehabilitation since damaging his left hamstring during Australia's World Cup match against South Africa three weeks ago, an injury that sidelined him for the remainder of the tournament.

He had previously been in solid touch during the World Cup with scores of 89, 23 and 88 in the three matches prior to the South Africa game.

Root has been named captain of the England side that will be looking to reclaim the Ashes after suffering a 4-0 defeat in Australia in 2017-18.

England won the World Cup for the first time earlier this month and have not been beaten in a home Ashes series since 2001.

Australia squad (with shirt numbers): Tim Paine (c) (7), Cameron Bancroft (43), Pat Cummins (30), Marcus Harris (14), Josh Hazlewood (38), Travis Head (62), Usman Khawaja (1), Marnus Labuschagne (33), Nathan Lyon (67), Mitchell Marsh (8), Michael Neser (18), James Pattinson (19), Peter Siddle (10), Steve Smith (49), Mitchell Starc (56), Matthew Wade (13), David Warner (31)

England squad (with shirt numbers): Joe Root (c) (66), Moeen Ali (18), Jimmy Anderson (9), Jofra Archer (22), Jonny Bairstow (51), Stuart Broad (8), Rory Burns (27), Jos Buttler (63), Sam Curran (58), Joe Denly (24), Jason Roy (20), Ben Stokes (vc) (55), Olly Stone (26), Chris Woakes (19)

Full Schedule

First Test: August 1-5, Edgbaston

Tour match: Australians v Worcestershire, August 7-9 (not broadcast)

Second Test: August 14-18, Lord's

Third Test: August 22-26, Headingley

Tour match: Australians v Derbyshire, August 29-31 (not broadcast)

Fourth Test: September 4-8, Old Trafford

Fifth Test: September 12-16, The Oval

How To Watch

All five Tests will be broadcast live and free on the Nine Network. The series will also be live streamed online at 9Now, with radio coverage from ACB Grandstand.

Session Times (AEST)

Coin toss: 7:30pm (day one only)

First session: 8:00pm-10:00pm

Lunch: 10:00pm-10:40pm

Second session: 10:40pm-12:40am

Tea: 12:40am-1:00am

Third session: 1:00am-3:00am

Sydney Thunder Membership

Membership for the upcoming season is now on sale with Full Season passes available from $80 and 2-Game passes from $45, including access to a host of exclusive benefits such as the Sydney Royal Easter Show.

To secure your Membership click here or call our Membership Team on 02 8302 6006.

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Fixture

Tuesday 17 December | Vs Brisbane Heat | The Gabba | 7:10PM

Thursday 19 December | Vs Melbourne Renegades | GMHBA Stadium | 7:10PM

Saturday 21 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 28 December | Vs Sydney Sixers | SCG | 7:10PM

Tuesday 31 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Adelaide Oval | 7:10PM

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3:40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Wednesday 8 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | MCG | 7:10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:10PM

Wednesday 15 January | Vs Melbourne Renegades | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Monday 20 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Optus Stadium | 9:40PM

Friday 24 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Blundstone Arena | 6:10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2:45PM