Dar Signing Makes History | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Dar Signing Makes History

04 October 2019

Nida Dar

All-rounder is paving the way for more international cricketers to join the Big Bash

Sydney Thunder has made history with the signing of star all-rounder Nida Dar, who becomes the first woman from Pakistan to sign a deal with an overseas cricket league.


The 32-year-old is currently in some of the best form of her career, having played a starring role in Pakistan’s close-fought 3-2 T20I series defeat to South Africa in May.

She struck two half-centuries in the series, including a stunning 37-ball 75, the second-fastest women’s T20I fifty of all time.

Head Coach Trevor Griffin believes this will pave the way for more international players to join the Big Bash.   

“I think that when you bring somebody new into what is the biggest women’s T20 competition in the world, that raises a real excitement,” Griffin said.

“We’ve already seen in the past where one Indian player has gotten involved and then more follow and be involved.

“I think this certainly opens the door for more players from Pakistan and other countries outside the big three of Australia, India and England wanting to get involved in these competitions and there’s some really exciting players in those smaller international teams.

“Nida is an experienced international cricketer and she will bring over her own skills and ideas that will challenge the norm and allow us to grow.”

In 2016, Sydney Thunder also became the first overseas club to sign an Indian cricketer when it welcomed star batter Harmanpreet Kaur.

Sydney Thunder WBBL Squad

Head Coach: Trevor Griffin

Assistant Coach: Mark McInnes

Contracted for WBBL|05: Rachael Haynes (C), Sam Bates, Alex Blackwell, Nida Dar, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Lisa Griffith, Saskia Horley, Kate Peterson, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenaman, Tahlia Wilson

Sydney Thunder is set to open the first ever standalone WBBL season with a blockbuster Sydney Smash against crosstown rivals the Sydney Sixers at North Sydney Oval on Friday 18 October.

Sydney Thunder Memberships

To celebrate the first ever standalone season, the club has launched its Inaugural WBBL Membership, starting from $25 and including a unique Membership pack.

For more information, please contract our Membership Team on 02 8302 6092.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|05 Tickets

Friday 18 October | Vs Sydney Sixers | North Sydney Oval | 7.40PM

Sunday 20 October | Vs Brisbane Heat | North Sydney Oval | 2.10PM

Saturday 26 October | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Blacktown International Sportspark | 7.00PM

Sunday 27 October | Vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval | 2.00PM

Friday 15 November | Vs Sydney Sixers | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Saturday 16 November | Vs Brisbane Heat | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Wednesday 20 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | North Dalton Park | 2.30PM