Cummins and Kaur Named Players of the Tournaments | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Cummins and Kaur Named Players of the Tournaments

03 April 2017

Patt Cummins //GETTY IMAGES

Watch the acceptance videos

Sydney Thunder celebrated the end of the BBL06/WBBL02 season at Cricket NSW’s annual Steve Waugh & Belinda Clark Awards this past Saturday.

The Mike Hussey Medal, formally known as the ‘Sydney Thunder’s BBL Player of the Tournament was won by Penrith quick Pat Cummins, the 23 year-old paceman and dangerous lower order batsmen proved too quick for the BBL at times as edges flew to the boundary.

Harmanpreet Kaur was named the Sydney Thunder’s WBBL Player of the Tournament, the hard-hitting Kaur scored 296 runs at an average of 59.20 and claimed six wickets bowling her off spin as well.

Also recognised during the night was the work of Lawrence Machado from the Rouse Hill Times for his article on MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All-Stars’ Ali Rizwan and the Sunday Telegraph’s David Campbell for his article on Harmanpreet Kaur.