CEO reacts to BBL fixture changes | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

CEO reacts to BBL fixture changes

11 January 2021

Remaining three Thunder matches relocated to Adelaide Oval

Following Cricket Australia’s announcement today that seven KFC Big Bash League games have been relocated from Sydney and Melbourne as a result of state border closures and related impacts, Cricket NSW CEO Lee Germon has reached out to fans of the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

“We all know how tough the past nine or ten months have been for all Australians and this is just another unfortunate situation that we have to deal with,” Germon said.

“We, along with our stakeholders, would love nothing more than to be able to play these crucial BBL matches at the SCG and Sydney Showgrounds Stadium so we could show our appreciation to our members and supporters.

“Having talked to a number of players and staff at both the Sixers and Thunder, they are devastated that they can't play in front of their respective supporter bases but we all recognise the significant challenges involved in border crossings in the current environment and the work everyone in Australian Cricket has put in to achieve the common goal of playing the tournament in its entirety.

"There is no doubt our players will be putting in that extra effort wherever possible to finish the season off on a high as a gesture of thanks and support to those fans that have stuck by them all season, despite not being able to see their heroes in action in Sydney."

Of the seven games moving to new venues, five were originally scheduled for Sydney:

1. 22 January: Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Oval, 6:45pm ACDT (originally at Sydney Cricket Ground)

2. 24 January: Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, Adelaide Oval, 3:35pm ACDT (originally at Sydney Showground Stadium)

3. 24 January: Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Cricket Ground, 7:15pm AEDT (originally at Sydney Cricket Ground)

4. 25 January: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Oval, 6:45pm ACDT (originally at Sydney Showground Stadium)

5. 26 January: Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers, venue TBC, 1:05pm AEDT (originally at Sydney Cricket Ground)

Tickets for Sydney matches had not yet been available to the public.

Those relocations follow earlier fixture changes that included games involving both Sydney teams, including the Sydney Smash to now be played at Manuka Oval in Canberra on Wednesday night.