Thunder Duo Retain National Contracts | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Duo Retain National Contracts

04 April 2019

Rachael Haynes // Getty Images

Trenaman and Vakarewa selected for National Performance Squad

Sydney Thunder duo Nicola Carey and Rachael Haynes have both been awarded national contracts for the 2019-20 season.

National contracts have been awarded based on performances over the last 12 months and with an eye to the upcoming Women’s Ashes and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Australian Women’s Team had an outstanding summer, winning T20 and ODI series against New Zealand and Pakistan, as well as claiming the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies.

“Overall there has been minimal change in the CA Contract list, which we believe is a good sign leading into a very important year with the Ashes and a home T20 World Cup,” National Selector Shawn Flegler said.

Carey and Haynes were both standout performers for Thunder throughout the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

Carey took 15 wickets and scored 104 runs at 34.67, while Haynes scored 376 runs at 31.33 to finish as the eighth-highest run scorer in the competition and Thunder’s top scorer.

2019-20 Cricket Australia Women’s Contract List

Nicole Bolton

Nicola Carey

Ashleigh Gardner

Rachael Haynes

Alyssa Healy

Jessica Jonassen

Delissa Kimmince

Meg Lanning

Sophie Molineux

Beth Mooney

Ellyse Perry

Megan Schutt

Elyse Villani

Georgia Wareham

Rachel Trenaman and Belinda Vakarewa have also retained their places in the Women’s National Performance Squad.

The squad of 14 young cricketers will spend time at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane under the watchful eye of Head Coach and former Sydney Thunder Assistant Coach Leah Poulton.

Trenaman, 17, will participate in the program part-time as she balances cricket and Year 12 commitments.

2019 Women’s National Performance Squad

Lauren Cheatle (NSW, 20)

Maddy Darke (NSW, 18)

Josie Dooley (QLD, 19)

Nicole Faltum (VIC, 19)

Heather Graham (WA, 22)

Alana King (VIC, 23)

Maitlan Brown (ACT, 21)

Tahlia McGrath (SA, 23)

Annabel Sutherland (VIC, 17)

Rachel Trenaman (NSW, 17)

Belinda Vakarewa (NSW, 21)

Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC, 20)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA, 21)

Tahlia Wilson (NSW, 19)