Cricket Australia Contracts | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Cricket Australia Contracts

26 April 2017

Lauren Cheatle

Five Thunder Players Included

Several Sydney Thunder players have been awarded Cricket Australia contracts for 2017/18, with three members of Thunder’s WBBL squad included.

Alex Blackwell, Lauren Cheatle and Rachael Haynes have been named in the 13-player list, with Haynes being awarded a contract for the first time since 2013/14.

Rachael Haynes returned to the international setup in February making an unbeaten 50 against New Zealand, before an ankle injury ruled her out of the remainder of the series.

Thunder skipper Alex Blackwell, who made her debut in January 2003 retains her place in a side that has a busy 12-months including a 50 Over World Cup and Ashes Series.

Pat Cummins and Usman Khawaja are the two members of the Thunder’s BBL side to be named in the men’s contracted list. Pat Cummins went from a blistering BBL at Spotless Stadium to returning to the national team setup in India.