Brathwaite And Vince Named In Thunder Squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Brathwaite And Vince Named In Thunder Squad

07 January 2017

Carlos Brathwaite

Overseas duo set to face Hobart Hurricanes

Sydney Thunder has included two new overseas players in their 13-player squad to face the Hobart Hurricanes on Sunday at Blundstone Arena (7.10pm start).

West Indian all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite has joined the squad as a replacement player for Andre Russell who has been ruled of the remainder of the competition with a leg injury.

“It’s a dream to play in the big bash,” said Carlos Brathwaite.

“Its good to be here, I was in Sydney this time last year with the West Indies Test team, I didn’t get to see much of the city then but hopefully I can this time around.

“I’ve come to have fun and do my best for the team and put in 110% with the ball, in the field and with the bat as well.”

Brathwaite will be reunited with Thunder’s Head Coach Paddy Upton after the duo spent the previous Indian Premier League working together at the Delhi Daredevils.

“I’m looking forward to working with Paddy again,” Brathwaite said.

“I spent some time with him in the IPL and I really like his style of managing and coaching.“

Sydney Thunder have included England batsman James Vince in the squad for the first time, with the 25-year old replacing his international captain Eoin Morgan who has joined up with the England ODI squad in India.

The squad also sees Clint McKay returning in place of Gurinder Sandhu.

Sydney Thunder: Shane Watson (captain), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Carlos Brathwaite, Pat Cummins, Ryan Gibson Chris Green, Kurtis Patterson, Jay Lenton, Clint McKay, Arjun Nair, Ben Rohrer, James Vince.