BBLI11 Fixtures Announced | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

BBLI11 Fixtures Announced

14 July 2021

Boxing Day Smash highlights Thunder BBL|11 fixture announcement

Sydney Thunder will host cross-town rival Sydney Sixers in a marquee KFC Big Bash League match on Boxing Day at their spiritual home, Sydney Showground Stadium, marking the summer’s biggest day of cricket.

The huge clash will follow the traditional first day of the Boxing Day Ashes Test at the MCG and is one of five games at Showground in December (12, 26) and January (2, 13, 19), with the Thunder’s remaining two ‘home’ games taking place at Manuka Oval in Canberra on December 6 and 28.

The first Manuka Oval fixture is the Thunder’s season opener against the Brisbane Heat, while the second Sydney Smash is at the SCG on January 15.

The fixtures were announced as the BBL signalled its intention to return to a full 61-game home and away schedule this summer, allowing fans to watch their favourite clubs at their traditional homes should public health conditions allow.

The season will culminate with the Final on Friday, January 28, ensuring an action-packed summer holidays featuring stars from across Australia and around the world.

Incoming Thunder coach Trevor Bayliss hopes the announcement will brighten the spirits of cricket fans during this challenging time.

“Things are tough for a lot of people at the moment but hopefully this fixture announcement gives our fans something to look forward to,” Bayliss said.

“The players are back in training and now we have a day to look forward to for our BBL season to start.

“I hope that the Thunder Nation fans are as excited for the season as I am. As a team we are really looking forward to coming back to our spiritual home at Sydney Showground Stadium, as well as playing a few games at our second home in Canberra.”

Additionally, the League has today lifted the KFC BBL contracting embargo. Clubs will now be able to complete their lists for the season, including securing the signatures of up to three international players in their 18-player squads.

In all, 45 KFC BBL|11 matches will be broadcast on Seven, with all 61 matches to be broadcast on Foxtel and Kayo. SEN will also broadcast KFC BBL|11 matches nationwide.

The League will continue to monitor the public health situation throughout the summer and prioritise the health and safety of fans, players, staff and officials in all its decisions.

Further information regarding Memberships and Tickets will be released shortly.

Interested in becoming a Member of the Thunder Nation? Click here to be among the first to hear about our packages for WBBL|07 and BBL|11.

Sydney Thunder BBL|11 Fixtures (All AEDT Start Times)

Mon 6 Dec | Vs Brisbane Heat | 7:15pm | Manuka Oval

Fri 10 Dec | Vs Melbourne Stars | 7:15pm | MCG

Sun 12 Dec | Vs Melbourne Stars | 7:15pm | Sydney Showground Stadium

Sun 19 Dec | Vs Brisbane Heat | 7:40pm | Gabba

Sun 26 Dec | Vs Sydney Sixers | 6:05pm | Sydney Showground Stadium

Tues 28 Dec | Vs Perth Scorchers | 7:15pm | Manuka Oval

Fri 31 Dec | Vs Adelaide Strikers | 7:15pm | Adelaide Oval

Sun 2 Jan | Vs Adelaide Strikers | 7:15pm | Sydney Showground Stadium

Wed 5 Jan | Vs Perth Scorchers | 9:15pm | Optus Stadium

Sat 8 Jan | Vs Melbourne Renegades | 6:05pm | Marvel Stadium

Mon 10 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | 7:15pm | University of Tasmania Stadium

Thurs 13 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | 4:00pm | Sydney Showground Stadium

Sat 15 Jan | Vs Brisbane Heat | 7:40pm | SCG

Wed 19 Jan | Vs Melbourne Renegades | 4:40pm | Sydney Showground Stadium

Click here to sync the fixtures to your e-cal.