Thunder Set To Open BBL|09 | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Set To Open BBL|09

25 July 2019

Fixture announcement reveals blockbuster clashes for Thunder

The full schedule for the ninth season of the KFC Big Bash League has been announced today, including some blockbuster clashes for Sydney Thunder.


Sydney Thunder will feature in the opening match of the tournament when they take on Brisbane Heat at The Gabba on 17 December, before meeting the reigning BBL champions the Melbourne Renegades at GMHBA Stadium on 19 December.

Other fixture highlights include the highly anticipated Sydney Smash derbies against the Sydney Sixers on 28 December (SCG) and 18 January (Sydney Showground Stadium), plus a Sunday afternoon clash at home against the Perth Scorchers on the January long weekend.

Today’s announcement confirmed a condensed home-and-away fixture, with 56 games over 42 days and a revamped finals series format.

The home-and-away season has been shortened by almost two weeks to coincide with the school holidays period for families, and a five-team finals series will see the top two teams rewarded with a double chance.

Sydney Thunder Head Coach Shane Bond commented on the fixtures.

“It’s a really exciting schedule, with some big home matches including a Sydney Smash and a Sunday afternoon clash against the Perth Scorchers over the January long weekend,” Bond said.

“We played two thrillers against the Scorchers last season, so it’s sure to be another entertaining contest.

“It’s fantastic to see a new finals format introduced. I think that we’ve got a squad that can certainly do well in this competition and we definitely want to be one of the final five.

“It’s really pleasing as well that, should we qualify, we can host a home final at Sydney Showground Stadium where our players love to play and our fans can attend.

“The support of the Thunder Nation is outstanding, so it’s great that they will have plenty of opportunities to watch their heroes in action over the summer.”


BBL|09 will reach more fans across Australia than ever before, with FOX SPORTS and Seven covering all the Big Bash action. FOX SPORTS will broadcast all 56 matches, including 16 matches exclusively, while Seven will broadcast 40 matches across the season.

Sydney Thunder will confirm venues for its two home fixtures on 21 December and 15 January in the coming weeks.


Membership for the upcoming season is now on sale with Full Season passes available from $80 and 2-Game passes from $45, including access to a host of exclusive benefits such as the Sydney Royal Easter Show.

To secure your Membership click here or call our Membership Team on 02 8302 6006.

Tickets on Sale

Tickets for BBL|09 will be available on 15 August.

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Fixture

Tuesday 17 December | Vs Brisbane Heat | The Gabba | 7:10PM

Thursday 19 December | Vs Melbourne Renegades | GMHBA Stadium | 7:10PM

Saturday 21 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 28 December | Vs Sydney Sixers | SCG | 7:10PM

Tuesday 31 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Adelaide Oval | 7:10PM

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3:40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Wednesday 8 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | MCG | 7:10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:10PM

Wednesday 15 January | Vs Melbourne Renegades | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Monday 20 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Optus Stadium | 9:40PM

Friday 24 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Blundstone Arena | 6:10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2:45PM