Blackwell takes on Thunder role | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Blackwell takes on Thunder role

07 July 2021

Alex Blackwell // Getty Images

Club legend appointed List Manager for WBBL team

Sydney Thunder have scored a massive coup just days before the WBBL|07 fixture is announced with the signing of former Australia captain Alex Blackwell as their List Manager.

Blackwell, a veteran of 251 internationals across all three formats of the game and the inaugural captain of the Thunder, will manage the roster for the Thunder’s defending champion WBBL squad.

Now a broadcaster with Fox Cricket, with the luxury of watching players from all over the world for a living, CNSW Head of Cricket Greg Mail believes Blackwell is a great appointment.

“We couldn’t be happier to have engaged Alex to manage the WBBL playing list at the Thunder,” Mail said.

“Like Lisa (Sthalekar, the Sixers List Manager), her cricket pedigree is obviously outstanding and Alex is an exceptional person who will bring decades of knowledge and experience to the role.

“The fact she watches more cricket than most with her commentary roles and has had the chance to see plenty of talent from around Australia and across the world is a big positive.”

Blackwell said she was delighted to continue her strong connection with the Thunder Nation, while sighting her role with global gender equity movement FairBreak as a driver for her scouting experience.

“I am thrilled to get the offer (to manage the Thunder’s WBBL list) and think I fit the role pretty nicely,” Blackwell said.

“It is something I stay across anyway because of the wonderful opportunities I get to commentate on cricket.

“I also keep an eye on all domestic cricket and internationally through my role with FairBreak where I am helping put together all six teams for the FairBreak Invitational – a first of its kind global invitation tournament next year in Hong Kong.”

A List Manager for the Thunder’s BBL team will be appointed in due course.

Thunder players contracted for WBBL|07: Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Kate Peterson, Olivia Porter, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson.

Interested in becoming a Member of the Thunder Nation? Click here to be among the first to hear about our packages for WBBL|07 and BBL|11.