Alex Blackwell Medal contenders | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Alex Blackwell Medal contenders

02 April 2020

Sydney Thunder // Getty Images

Who was Thunder’s best player of WBBL|05?

Sydney Thunder is set to announce the winner of the Alex Blackwell Medal for WBBL|05 on Saturday 4 April.

The winner will be announced through online channels after Cricket NSW cancelled its annual awards evening in response to the COVID-19 crisis.

Here’s a closer look at the contenders for the Alex Blackwell Medal, won last year by Rachel Priest. 

Alex Blackwell

A strong season with the bat could see Thunder legend Blackwell claim player of the tournament honours for the first time.

Blackwell, who retired at the end of the season, finished on a high as the side’s leading run-scorer with 317 runs at an average of 28.82, including two half-centuries.  

Shabnim Ismail

The fiery South African speedster was a welcome addition to the Thunder Nation this season.

Ismail claimed 10 wickets at an economy of 5.88 – the third most effective in the league behind only Megan Schutt and Ellyse Perry.

Her best figures of 3/14 came against the Melbourne Renegades at Blacktown International Sportspark and she also grabbed one of the best catches of the summer against the Perth Scorchers at Karen Rolton Oval.

Hannah Darlington

Then seventeen-year-old Darlington made her debut under lights in the season opener against the Sydney Sixers on the same day she sat her Year 12 English exam and went on to play every match for Thunder.

The all-rounder finished as Thunder’s leading wicket taker with 16 – and scored 81 runs at a strike rate of 105.19. 

Sam Bates

The consistent left-arm spinner is a chance to win her first Alex Blackwell Medal after another consistent season with the ball.

Bates claimed 15 wickets – second most behind Darlington – at an economy of 7.06, with her best figures of 3/21 coming against the Renegades in Melbourne.

Past winners of the Alex Blackwell Medal:

WBBL|04 - Rachel Priest

WBBL|03 - Rachael Haynes

WBBL|02 - Harmanpreet Kaur

WBBL|01 - Stafanie Taylor