Sher E Punjab win ACT HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sher E Punjab win ACT HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup

02 September 2019

Sher E Punjub

Record participation at Canberra event

A record 16 teams entered the ACT HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup, which was contested at Lyneham Sportsgrounds on Sunday.

The HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup exists to bring individuals and communities together and to celebrate culture through cricket.

The third installment of the Canberra event saw PK 11 and Sher E Punjab contest the final for the third straight year. In a high-scoring affair, Sher E Punjab posted 182 off their 10 overs, thanks largely to 40 not-out from Goldy Virk.

Despite a quick start to the run chase, PK 11 fell 25 runs short in their quest for back-to-back titles.

The HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup continues across September and October, with free community trials held for communities across the Thunder Nation. Individuals are encouraged to register for their community trials, where a team will be selected to represent their community at the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day in November.

2019 HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Schedule

Nepal Community Event – Sunday 8 September – Please contact Sydney Thunder

Fiji Community Trials – Wednesday 18 September – REGISTER HERE

India Community Trials – Sunday 22 September – REGISTER HERE

Bangladesh Community Trials – Wednesday 25 September – REGISTER HERE

Pakistan Community Trials – Sunday 29 September – REGISTER HERE

African Nations Community Trials – Wednesday 2 October – REGISTER HERE

Sri Lanka Community Event – Monday 7 October – Please contact Sydney Thunder

Afghanistan Community Trials – Wednesday 16th October – REGISTER HERE

Vietnam Community Trials – Sunday 20th October – REGISTER HERE

From each Community Trial, a team will be selected to represent their nation at the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day on Sunday 3 November 2019.

For more information, please contact Sydney Thunder.

For information about the Women’s Thunder Nation Cup, please contact Sydney Thunder.

Sydney Thunder Membership

Memberships are on sale now, with flexible 2-Game Memberships starting from $45 and Full Season Memberships available from $80.

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Tickets

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3:40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:10PM

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2:45PM

Sydney Thunder WBBL|05 Tickets

Friday 18 October | Vs Sydney Sixers | North Sydney Oval | 7.40PM

Sunday 20 October | Vs Brisbane Heat | North Sydney Oval | 2.10PM

Saturday 26 October | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Blacktown International Sportspark | 7.00PM

Sunday 27 October | Vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval | 2.00PM

Friday 15 November | Vs Sydney Sixers | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Saturday 16 November | Vs Brisbane Heat | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Wednesday 20 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | North Dalton Park | 2.30PM