Countdown begins to Weber WBBL|10 and KFC BBL|14 Drafts

The world’s best players will be able to begin putting their names in the mix ahead of this summer’s Big Bash competitions, with nominations now open for the Weber WBBL|10 and KFC BBL|14 Overseas Player Drafts.

Now into its third year, the BBL Draft attracted over 300 nominations in each of its first two iterations, while the inaugural WBBL Draft last year saw 122 players nominate.

For the first time clubs will be able to take up to four overseas players by the completion of the Draft – an increase from three in previous years.

The group of four overseas talent can be made up of drafted players, in addition to those signed before the event under the League’s new multi-year contract provision and a fourth player considered a Replacement Player for a Primary Squad member.

Under the new multi-year provision, clubs can now sign a maximum of one overseas player per competition for up to three years prior to the Draft. These players do not need to enter the nominations pool, but all others hopeful of being drafted must nominate prior to the event.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|09 selections:

Marizanne Kapp, Heather Knight, Lauren Bell.


Sydney Thunder BBL|13 selections:

Alex Hales, Zaman Khan.

Thunder entered last year’s inaugural WBBL Draft with the #1 pick overall – selecting world-class all-rounder Marizanne Kapp with the first pick, in addition to England captain Heather Knight at Pick 9 and quick Lauren Bell at Pick 18.

In the men’s Draft, Thunder selected top-order English batter Alex Hales at Pick 6 and Pakistan quick Zaman Khan at Pick 13.

Sydney Thunder General Manager, Trent Copeland said the club was eagerly looking ahead to the Drafts.

“The opening of nominations for the Overseas Player Drafts is a really exciting milestone as we look forward to the events later this year.

“Our focus is to bring in world-class talent but also players who will live and breathe what we are about at the club and fully embrace the Thunder Nation.

“The Drafts are a great opportunity for us to add to our squads and work towards our goal of not just challenging in tournaments, but winning titles.”

The contracting window for KFC BBL|14 and Weber WBBL|10 is now open. Clubs can sign and trade domestic players, and sign one international per list on a multi-year contract.

The first group of player nominations will be announced soon, alongside a date and broadcast details for the Drafts.

Sydney Thunder BBL|14 Squad:

Wes Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Oliver Davies, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Nathan McAndrew, William Salzmann, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha


Sydney Thunder WBBL|10 Squad:

Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Saskia Horley, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Claire Moore, Tahlia Wilson

Principal Partners

Official Partners