Thunder Fall To Strikers Defeat

Sydney Thunder fell to a six-wicket defeat at the hands of reigning WBBL champions, Adelaide Strikers, at the Karen Rolton Oval.

After posting 6/118 having been put into bat, Laura Wolvaardt was the main players in the hosts’ chase, as they completed the victory with 2.1 overs to spare.

Earlier in the piece, 43 from Chamari Athapaththu, and a pair of 27s from Marizanne Kapp and Anika Learoyd lifted the Thunder to their total.

Off-spinner Lauren Smith, then took two wickets off her first two balls, including a beautifully flighted and turning delivery to dismiss Tahlia McGrath, but ultimately the Strikers would run out victors.

View the full scorecard here, or read the match report here.

Next up for Thunder is a return fixture against the Perth Scorchers at Cricket Central on Saturday. Secure tickets for that match here.

Principal Partners

Official Partners